Pakistan vs New Zealand | Test Series Preview | New Zealand’s tour of Pakistan

Pakistan vs. New Zealand | Test Series Preview | New Zealand’s tour of Pakistan

Pakistan vs New Zealand | Test Series Preview | New Zealand’s tour of Pakistan

New Zealand cricket team is touring Pakistan for the first time in 18 years. New Zealand last played a test match in Pakistan in 2002 while they toured the country for 5 One Day Matches in 2003. The tour has great historic and symbolic significance as New Zealand will play 2 Test Matches and 3 ODI matches on the tour.

Pakistan vs New Zealand

Kane Williamson quits Captaincy:

New Zealand abounded separate squads for Test and ODI series. Kane Williamson decided to step away from the role of Test Captaincy to focus on the upcoming World Cups. Tim Southee has been appointed as the New Test Captain of New Zealand. Southee will captain New Zealand in the upcoming series against Pakistan.

New Zealand’s Test Squad | Pakistan vs New Zealand:

Even though Kane Williamson has quit the Test Captaincy, he will continue to be a part of the New Zealand team as a batter.

Tim Southee©, Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell (Keeper), Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson and Will Young.

New Zealand’s ODI Squad | Pakistan vs New Zealand:

Kane Williamson© Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Michael Bracewell, Adam Milne,  Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Henry Nicholls, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Henry Shipley, Tim Southee.

New Zealand Cricket Team’s arrival in Pakistan:

New Zealand cricket team arrived in Pakistan on Thursday morning after their long flight from New Zealand. They were warmly and generously welcomed by the authorities in Pakistan. The players looked delighted with the welcoming response of the Pakistanis. The team was taken to their hotels in tight security. The players seemed happy and satisfied with the arrangements in Pakistan. 

Pakistan’s Test Squad | Pakistan vs New Zealand:

Pakistan have also announced their test Squad for the upcoming series. The squad members include the following:

Babar Azam (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Shan Masood, Imam-ul-Haq, Hasan Ali, Kamran Ghulam, Abrar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Salman Ali Agha, Noman Ali, Saud Shakeel, and Zahid Mehmood.

Tour Schedule:

The schedule for the upcoming tour is as follows:

Pakistan vs New Zealand Test Series:

The first test match is scheduled to take place in Karachi between 26th and 30th December 2022. This will be followed by the second test match in Multan. The second test will take place between 3rd to 7th December.

Pakistan vs New Zealand ODI Series:

The One Day series between Pakistan and New Zealand will start with he first ODI on 10th January. This will be followed by two one day matches on 12th and 14th January 2023. All these one day matches will take place in Karachi.

Pakistan are yet to announce their squad for the ODI series. However, an announcement can be expected in the coming week.It promises to be an exciting tour as both the teams are well-balanced and well prepared.


Author: Deltin7News
Catch up with the latest and breaking Cricket News, detailed analysis on trending cricket topics, series and match previews, reviews, player interviews. We’re building a cricket product for the generation of always connected internet users and we need your talent and passion.