ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024: Schedule, Venues, and Groups

ICC U19 Men's Cricket World Cup
ICC U19 Men's Cricket World Cup

ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024

Five-time winners India’s 2024 ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup campaign will begin in Bloemfontein against 2020 champions Bangladesh. On January 19, the tournament will open with a match between hosts South Africa and the West Indies.

The 15th edition of the Under 19 showcase will take place at five different venues in South Africa over the course of more than three weeks in January and February. The schedule for the 16-team competition was made public by the ICC on Monday.

India, who won the competition in the West Indies in 2022, is grouped alongside Bangladesh, Ireland, and the USA in Group A as they look to win a record-breaking sixth Under 19 title.

England, South Africa, the West Indies, and Scotland make up Group B. Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and Namibia are in Group C, and Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Nepal are in Group D.

Before the semi-finals and final in Benoni, the top three teams from each group advance to the Super Six stage of the competition.

The Under 19 World Cup will be held in South Africa for the third time, following editions in 1998 and 2020. According to ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley, the nation is well-positioned to capitalize on the success of hosting two recent championships in the past year.

“South Africa has successfully hosted two historic events for the sport in the last 12 months: the first-ever ICC U19 Women’s T20 World Cup last year, and the ground-breaking ICC Women’s T20 World Cup that followed,” Tetley stated.

“By moving the U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 to South Africa, we will have the chance to capitalize on this momentum and welcome the world’s top young cricket players to five prestigious international venues.”

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has recently announced the revised schedule for the highly anticipated U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024. Originally planned to be held in Sri Lanka, the tournament will now take place in South Africa from January 19 to February 11. This decision was made by the ICC Board in November due to certain issues faced by Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). The U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is a prestigious event that showcases the talents of the most promising young cricketers from around the world.


Five renowned venues in South Africa have been selected to host the 41 matches of the tournament. These venues include:

  1. Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein
  2. Buffalo Park in East London
  3. Kimberley Oval in Kimberley
  4. JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom
  5. Willowmoore Park in Benoni

These stadiums have a rich history of hosting international cricket matches and will provide the perfect stage for the young cricketers to showcase their skills.


The participating teams have been divided into four groups, each consisting of four teams. Let’s take a look at the groups:

Group A:

  • India
  • Bangladesh
  • Ireland
  • United States of America (USA)

Group B:

  • England
  • South Africa
  • West Indies
  • Scotland

Group C:

  • Australia
  • Sri Lanka
  • Zimbabwe
  • Namibia

Group D:

  • Afghanistan
  • Pakistan
  • New Zealand
  • Nepal

These groups feature a mix of cricketing powerhouses and emerging cricketing nations, making the tournament even more exciting.


The U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 will kick off with a total of 41 matches spread over three weeks. The schedule is as follows:

  • Warm-up Matches: Each competing team will play two warm-up matches between January 13-17 to prepare for the tournament.
  • Group Stage Matches: The group stage matches will commence on January 19. Teams within each group will compete against each other, with the top three teams from each group advancing to the next round.
  • Super Six Stage: The top 12 teams from the group stage will enter the Super Six stage, starting on January 30. Here, two groups of six teams will clash against each other to determine the four semi-finalists.
  • Semi-Finals and Final: The semi-finals will take place on February 6, with a reserve day allocated for these crucial knockout matches. The finalists will battle it out on February 11 in the highly anticipated final.

Previous Champions

The U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has a rich history, with several teams leaving their mark on the tournament. India is the most successful team, having won the title five times. Australia follows closely with three titles, while Pakistan has secured the trophy twice. Other winners include England, Bangladesh, South Africa, and the West Indies, with each team winning the tournament once.


The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 promises to be an exciting event, featuring young talents from around the world. The tournament’s relocation to South Africa has added a new dimension, and the selected venues are ready to host thrilling matches. Fans eagerly await the action-packed schedule, which includes the group stage, the Super Six stage, and ultimately, the highly anticipated final. As the tournament unfolds, cricket enthusiasts will witness the rise of potential future stars and witness the spirit of cricket in its purest form.

Author: Deltin7News
Catch up with the latest and breaking Cricket News, detailed analysis on trending cricket topics, series and match previews, reviews, player interviews. We’re building a cricket product for the generation of always connected internet users and we need your talent and passion.